The Early Years Foundation Stage(EYFS) sets the standards for learning and development for children from birth to five years of age.

Our provision reflects the four overarching principles of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage:

  • A unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and development

Prime Areas of Learning and Development

Personal, social and emotional development:

  • Making relationships
  • self confidence and awareness
  • managing feelings and behaviour

Physical development:

  • moving and handling
  • health and selfcare

Communication and language:

  • listening and attention
  • understanding
  • speaking

Specific Areas of Learning and Development


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • numbers
  • shape, space and measure

Understanding the world:

  • people and communities
  • the world
  • technology

Expressive arts and design

  • exploring and using media and materials
  • being imaginative

Learning Journey

We assess how young children are learning and developing by observing them frequently.  We use information that we gain from observations, as well as from photographs of the children, to document their progress and where this may be leading them.  We share this information with our parents in the form of a ‘Learning Journey’.  We believe that parents know their children best and we ask them to contribute to assessment by sharing information about what their children like to do at home and how they as parents are supporting development.